Selection Committee & Criteria

Community Selection Committee

Chair - David Fraser


Major General (Ret’d) and former Commander of Afghanistan South

Armand Vinet

Captain (Ret'd) and former Task Force Afghanistan Sergeant Major

Darrell Bricker

HCol the Queen's York Rangers (1st American Regt) (RCAC) & CEO, Ipsos Public Affairs

Ray Castelli

CEO, Weatherhaven

Wayne Ford

Major (Ret'd) and former Army Sergeant Major

Community Approval Criteria

1. Community ties with:

  • Afghanistan
  • Canadian Armed Forces (CAF)
  • Sacrifice
  • Military & Defence Industry

2. Monument - location, visitor accessibility and sustainability/upkeep

3. Community engagement with the monument

Note: In the event that multiple applications are received from within the same community or region the, committee will use the above criteria to limit duplication.